Cherry Blossoms

Silk fell from the sky today.
It littered the streets
In the midst of the city,
And it felt like the first snowfall
Of spring.

The cherry blossoms capered
As I danced In a hurricane
of ivory and champagne pink.
They twirled around me,
Always seeming on the brink of collapse.

Meanwhile I pine for the oak
That I once swayed beneath
While the tough gravel road
Stung my bare feet
Until they were calloused,
And the pain became numb.

A new season arrives
And I wonder if it’s enough
To break me from this winter.
The petals feel unfamiliar
And there’s no one else dancing.

Leave a Reply

