The Weight 

I feel your weight
Even when you’re gone.
Not your actual weight:
(Though I do sometimes feel that too)
The weight of US I suppose.
It’s heavier than anything I’ve ever carried.

It strengthens me
It gives me shelter
It covers me in velvet peace
Like your burgundy gown.

Sometimes, it crushes me
And I feel so scared
You’ll leave me to carry this on my own

I grow stronger with each step
fonder with every kiss
more vulnerable with every single word written in love on this god forsaken page.

I love this weight I carry,
For my arms have been longing to do so
My entire life.
But only you could put this on me
And only you have the power
To build, or destroy.

Leave a Reply

