The disconnect 

Sins of the heart
Or Sins of the body?
Equal, apart,
Bland and yet gaudy
Love-stricken words
Or white lipsticked collars?
Either will hurt
Which order is taller?

I can’t pretend
That I don’t dream of it
His hands on your thighs
And his breath on your lips
The very same pair
That you promised me with
“You and you only
I swear to my death”

The very same pair
That kissed me goodbye
That whispered I’m sorry
As I yelled and you cried
That kept me awake
When I was so high
That if I feel asleep
You knew I might die.

“It’s all in the past”
And I know that is true
But that doesn’t make it hurt less
If anyone understands that, it’s you.

Leave a Reply

