Imaginary Friend

I once had an imaginary friend, 

And she was beautiful. 

She walked the way I always dreamed

And she talked smooth and sweet. 

And she loved me the way I had always wanted

And I loved her too.

We became so close, 

That I told her my feelings 

And she told me hers.

And for hours on end, 

We played frivolous games.

I gave her my heart. 

She broke it in half.

Then I realized why-

I got so caught up in her false perfection

That I had forgotten 

That she was fake. 

I had forgotten that I created her in my head.

That I fantasized the way she walked, 

I dreamed up the way she talked, 

I even managed to imagine her love. 

Leave a Reply

